Nigeria, Morocco Steal Show@2023 CAF Awards Ceremony In Marrakech, Morocco

Nigeria, Morocco Steal Show @2023 CAF Awards Ceremony In Marrakech, Morocco.

....... Osimhen and Oshoala outshine others, win top prize
By Olopade Sakiru

The Confederation of African Football (CAF)  on Monday held its annual awards ceremony in Marrakech, Morocco.

Nigeria and Morocco were the cynosure of all eyes at the colorful annual event, with Nigeria carting home the two top honours as Victor Osimhen was named men's player of the year and Asisat Oshoala was crowned women's player of the year.

The Nigerian most decorated female player, Oshoala winning the CAF women's player for a record sixth time.

Oshoala's dominance is not in doubt as she inspired Barcelona women to champions league glory, finishing as the club's top scorer with 27 goals across all competitions.
Oshoala was part of the Nigerian female team that ended the 2023 FIFA Women's world cup unbeaten.

The Prince of Napoli, Victor Osimhen was crowned the 2023 African men's footballer of the year after the Nigerian legend Kano Nwankwo won it in 1999.

He won the most prestigious individual award in Africa as a result of his titillating performance for Nigeria and Napoli.
Osimhen scored 26 times in 32 appearances last season to assist Napoli to win Serial A title for the first time since 1990.

The masked man, Osimhen was also instrumental to Nigeria's qualification for the next year's African Cup of Nation, scoring five goals
Osimhen's CAF award came in the heel of two months eighth placement in the men's Ballon D'or vote, becoming the first Nigerian to finish in the top 10.


* Player Of The Year (Men) : VICTOR OSIMHEN (Nigeria, Napoli)

* Player Of The Year (Women) : ASISAT OSHOALA, (Nigeria, Barcelona)

* Goalkeeper Of The Year (Women) : CHIAMAKA NNADOZIE, (  Nigeria, Paris Fc)

* National Team Of The Year, ( Women) : NIGERIA.

* National Team Of The Year, (Men) : (MOROCCO

* Young Player Of The Year, (Women) : NERYRE EL CHED, ( Morocco, Lille)

* Goalkeeper Of The Year, ( Men) : YASSINE BOUNOU, (Morocco, Al Hila.)

* Interclub Player Of The Year, (Women): FATIMA TAGNAOUT ( Morocco, As Far)

* Interclub Player Of The Year ( Men) : PERCY TAU, ( South Africa, Al Ahly)

* Coach Of The Year ( Women) : DESIREE ELLIS, ( South Africa)

* Young Player Of The Year, ( Men), LAMINE CAMARA, ( Senegal, Metz)

* Club Of The Year ( Men) : AL AHLY, ( Egypt)

The ultimate winners in each category were decided through a voting process involving a panel comprising CAF Technical Committee, Head Coaches, National team Captains and Media Professionals.

Post a Comment